The Ensemble

The Vocal Ensemble GLAS is an award-nominated vocal ensemble presenting six distinct female voices with roots in Denmark, Finland, the Faroe Islands, Hungary and Poland. The ensemble was founded in 2001, and the singers of The Vocal Ensemble GLAS originally met around a common passion for Bulgarian folk song with dancing ornaments, close voicing, odd meters and a metallic sound ideal. Since then, the vocal features of the ensemble have been used in as diverse contexts as modern opera, world music, experimental rock and pop, and not least in new Nordic folk music.

The ensemble sounds like one instrument, and with its cascades of tone colors, GLAS is a special vocal ensemble, especially expanding the frame of what a cappella folk song is.

Over the years, GLAS’ special sound has given opportunity to collaboration with a number of composers, bands, theaters and artists, including Afenginn, Sunleif Rasmussen, KOTTOS, Andrea Pellegrini, Kira Skov & Peter Peter, Line Tjørnhøj, Odin Theater, Frans Bak, Peter Danstrup, John Sund, Ragnhe∂ur Gröndal, Jeanett Albeck and Jacob Groth.

The Vocal Ensemble GLAS has no conductor and use no sheets on stage. The singers navigate through their obvious musicality and in-depth knowledge of the music and of each other. GLAS occupies the concert space in different settings throughout the concert, and the singers thus come close to the audience along the way. It is a beautiful sight and at the same time an overwhelming musical experience.

GLAS has toured in Denmark, Sweden, Finland, the Faroe Islands and Corsica. In 2020 Glas will visit Germany and the Faroe Islands.

GLAS Vocal Ensemble is supported by:

  • Augustinus Fonden
  • Carl Nielsen og Anne Marie Carl-Nielsens Legat
  • Lemvigh-Müller Fonden
  • Solistforeningen af 1921
  • William Demant Fonden
  • Dansk Korforbund
  • Statens Kunstfond
  • Tempi
  • Nordisk Kulturkontakt
  • The Faroese Cultural Foundation
  • Albertslund Kommunes Kulturudvalg
  • Den Bøhmske Fond
  • Det Obelske Familiefond
  • Frimodt-Heineke Fonden
  • Kolding Kommune – Kulturpuljen
  • Aage og Johanne Louis-Hansens Fond